Showcases

Showcases

A variety of showcases and special invited sessions and keynote speakers will be presented during the 2020 International Biometric Conference.

Biometrics Showcase

Session 1  
Thursday, 8 July 2020 | 13:00 UTC/GMT (09:00 Eastern USA Time)
Speakers: Andrew G. Chapple and Peter F. Thall
Title: A hybrid Phase I-II/III clinical trial design allowing dose re-optimization in Phase III (75: 371-381, 2019)

Session 2
Tuesday, 18 August 2020 @ 16:00 UTC/GMT (12:00 Eastern USA Time)
Speakers: John D. Rice, Robert L. Strawderman, Brent A. Johnson
Title: Regularity of a renewal process estimated from binary data (74: 566-574, 2018)


JABES Showcase

Session 1
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 | 15:00 UTC / GMT (11:00 Eastern USA Time)
Speakers: Matthew J. Heaton
Title: A case study competition among methods for analyzing large spatial data
24: 398-425 (2019)

Session 2
Thursday, 16 July 2020 | 15:00 UTC / GMT (11:00 Eastern USA Time)
Speakers: Erin Schliep
Title: Joint temporal point pattern models for proximate species occurrence in a fixed area using camera trap data
23: 334-357 (2018)

Session 3
Wednesday, 22 July 2020 | 00:00 UTC / GMT (20:00 Eastern USA Time)
Speaker: Daniel W. Gladish

Title: Emulation Engines: Choice and Qualification of Uncertainty for complex Hydrological Models 
23: 39-62 (2018)


Statistics in Practice I & II
Interested participants will be asked to watch a pre-recorded lecture  (https://garthtarr.github.io/avfs), download and install the relevant R packages, and then participate in a hands-on practical workshop where Sam and Garth will offer practical advice on using the tools.  There will be two practical sessions:

                
Session I  Thursday July 23 | 00:00 Midnight UTC/GMT (20:00 Eastern USA Time)

Session II  Thursday July 23 | 06:00 UTC/GMT (02:00 Eastern USA Time)

Fast algorithms and modern visualizations for feature selection

Professor Samuel Mueller
School of Mathematics and Statistics

University of Sydney
Dr. Garth Tarr
School of Mathematics and Statistics

University of Sydney


Young Statistician Showcase Competition
INFORMATION COMING SOON

The Young Statisticians' Showcase is an important part of the Society's International Biometric Conference (IBC). 
Five papers (one from Africa, Asia & Australasia, Europe, North America and South America) have been selected for presentation in the Virtual IBC2020 Young Statisticians' Showcase session.  A schedule for each presentation is currently being made. We will update you as soon as it posted. 

Representing Africa (Tanzanian Region)
Wende Safari, Department of Mathematics, Universidad A Coruña 
Title: Nonparametric estimation of mixture cure model when cure status is partially known

Representing Australia/Asia (Australasian Region)
Luca Maestrini, Faculty of Science, School of Mathematical and Physical Science, University of Technology Sydney 
Title: Variational approximate inference for inverse problems motivated by medical tomography

Representing Europe (Netherlands Region)
Mirko Signorelli, Biomedical Data Sciences, Leiden University Medical Center
Title: How to predict a survival outcome using longitudinal and high-dimensional omics data

Representing North America (Eastern North American Region)

Hyo Young Choi, University of Tennessee Health Science Center 
Title: SCISSOR: a novel framework for identifying structural changes in RNA transcripts

Representing South America (Argentinean Region)
Franca Giannini Kurina, Statistics and Biometrics, Faculty of Cs. Agricultural, Universidad Nacional de Córdoba
Title: Two step procedure to model site specific herbicide soil persistence